When I Fall, I Will Arise

Image

Yesterday, my friend shared a bible verse that completely blew me away.

“Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; when I fall, I will arise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light to me. I will bear the indignation of the Lord, because I have sinned against Him, until He pleads my case and executes justice for me. He will bring me forth to the light; I will see His righteousness.” Micah 7:8-9

I’m going to go through it bit by bit to explain why I’ve fallen so in love.

1) Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; when I fall, I will arise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light to me.

In this one sentence there is honesty, strength, and persistence. Honesty, it is accepted that we will fall and we will have dark days. It’s not written ‘if’ I fall or ‘if’ I sit in darkness, rather ‘when’ these things happen. This is humility: to know we are inherently weak and that we will sin and make mistakes. We are not perfect.

The next part is key, however, in preventing humility becoming insecurity. There is strength available to me and this strength comes from the Lord. Every time I fall, I will arise. Every time I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light to me. This is also persistence. I don’t give up because I fall or because of tribulation.

2) I will bear the indignation of the Lord, because I have sinned against Him, until He pleads my case and executes justice for me.

You may not like this line initially, it seems a bit frightening to bear the indignation of the Lord. But its actually beautiful and important for two reasons.

1. The Lord has already redeemed us through His incarnation, His life on earth, and His crucifiction but I must access this redemption through repentance. Redemption doesn’t mean that I don’t bear the consequence of my sins but it does mean that I have eternal life with Him and that He will be by my side in my suffering. For example if I kill someone, I will be put in jail. Repenting and confessing this sin to our Lord Jesus Christ does not mean that I get out of jail. I must bear the consequence of my sin. Jesus, however, will come into my heart and into my jail cell and keep me company with His presence.

So then acknowledging my sin and repenting to Jesus is important because it reunites me to Him, the source of life. From this union, I have access to forgiveness, joy, peace, and rest.

2. God is our judge but he is also our lawyer. He will execute justice but He will also plead our case. Lamentations 3:8 says, “You, Lord, took up my case; you redeemed my life.” It is not as scary to sit before the judge when He is also our defence. Someone in a court case who hires a famous lawyer, whose won every case, feels more confident sitting before the judge.

3) He will bring me forth to the light; I will see His righteousness.

I love the conviction and faith in the last sentence the most. Many of us can recite God’s promises and declarations of love by memory, but do we really believe them in our hearts? Do we believe that He will save us, heal our wounds, fill our emptiness, lift our darkness, and grant us eternal life lived in His presence? If we do, we will also be able to tell our enemy not to rejoice over us because we will believe in the redemption of our Lord.

I pray the mentality of this verse becomes a reality in each one of our lives. May we live always with hope in our God!

Leave a Reply

